ARGYLL AND BUTE COUNCIL

COUNCIL

CUSTOMER SERVICES

18 MAY 2017

COMPOSITION OF THE COUNCIL

1.0 EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

This report is intended to provide information to the Council about its composition in terms of the formation of groups of Councillors following the election on 4 May 2017. Further updated information may be tabled at the Council Meeting.

CUSTOMER SERVICES

18 MAY 2017

COMPOSITION OF THE COUNCIL

2.0 INTRODUCTION

2.1 This report is intended to provide information to the Council about its composition in terms of the formation of groups of Councillors following the election on 4 May 2017. Further updated information may be tabled at the Council Meeting. Members should note that written notification should be given to the Executive Director of Customer Services as soon as possible after the Election and in any event before the Council Meeting as to the Membership of any groups which may have been formed.

3.0 RECOMMENDATIONS

3.1 The Council is invited to note the terms of the report.

4.0 DETAIL

- 4.1 The Council's current constitution provides for the allocation of the seats on Strategic Committees and it is a matter for the Council to determine the composition and political balance (with the exception of the current Area Committees).
- 4.2 At the date of this report the composition of groups on the Council is as follows, subject to final notification to the Executive Director of Customer Services from the Groups:-

Group	No. of Members	% of Total Members
Independent Councillors	10	28%
Scottish Conservative and Unionist	9	25%
Scottish Liberal Democrats	6	17%
Democrats	11	30%
Scottish National Party		

- 4.3 Any decisions that the Council takes in respect of items 9(Council Constitution) and 10(Political Management Arrangements) will determine or may have an implication for the allocation of seats on any Committee or other body of the Council.
- 4.4 Membership of the groups is detailed at Appendix 1.

5.0 CONCLUSION

5.1 Elected Members are invited to note the composition of the Council following the Election on 4 May 2017. Members should note that written notification should be given to the Executive Director of Customer Services as soon as possible after the Election and in any event before the Council Meeting as to the membership of any groups which may have been formed and consequently further updated information may be tabled at the Council Meeting.

6.0 IMPLICATIONS

- 6.1 Policy none
- 6.2 Financial none
- 6.3 Legal none
- 6.4 HR none
- 6.5 Equalities none
- 6.6 Risk none
- 6.7 Customer Service none

Douglas Hendry Executive Director of Customer Services 10th May 2017

For further information contact: Charles Reppke, Head of Governance and Law, Tel: 01546 604192 email: Charles.reppke@argyll-bute.gov.uk

Appendix 1: Argyll and Bute Council - Political Composition

Argyll and Bute Council Political Composition

INDEPENDENT (10)

Jim Anderson
Mary-Jean Devon
George Freeman
Kieron Green
Donald MacMillan
Roddy McCuish
Jean Murray Moffat
Douglas Philand
Elaine Robertson
Len Scoullar

SCOTTISH CONSERVATIVE AND UNIONIST (9)

Bobby Good Donald Kelly David Kinniburgh Jamie McGrigor Yvonne McNeilly Barbara Morgan Gary Mulvaney Alastair Redman Andrew Vennard

SCOTTISH LIBERAL DEMOCRATS (6)

Rory Colville Robin Currie Graham Archibald Hardie Aileen Morton Ellen Morton Alan Reid

SCOTTISH NATIONAL PARTY (11)

John Armour
William Gordon Blair
Lorna Douglas
Jim Findlay
Audrey E Forrest
Anne Horn
Jim Lynch
Julie McKenzie
lain Shonny Paterson
Sandy Taylor
Richard Trail